Chocolate and Cookie Layer Delight

Desserts

Pasteles de galletas y chocolate 3

Adapted and Translated from Semana Magazine

Every time I looked through my mom’s binder of cut-out recipes, I came across this delicious-looking dessert. I promised myself I would make it one day. Finally, some friends invited us over and I had to make dessert. They liked chocolate and I wanted to make something fresh. This was perfect. I give you a decadent dessert for the chocolate-lover’s soul.

Ingredients:

  • 125 g butter
  • 150 g chocolate
  • 5 tablespoons of sugar
  • 3 eggs, divided
  • 1 cup milk
  • 48 (about 372 g) Biscoff cookies or other rectangular, plain cookies of your choice

Chocolate topping:

  • 113+ g chocolate
  • 1 tablespoon butter

Directions:

  1. Line a 13×9 baking pan with parchment paper and set aside.
  2. Place the chocolate on top of the butter in a microwavable bowl and melt together according to the directions on the chocolate wrapper. Mix in 3 tablespoons of sugar and the egg yolks one by one. Beat the 3 egg whites until stiff, shiny peaks form. Gently fold into the chocolate mixture.
  3. Mix together the milk and the rest of the sugar. Apply a layer of the chocolate mixture to the bottom of the pan and then top with a layer of cookies. Soak the cookies in the milk before adding to the pan. Continue with the rest of the chocolate mixture and cookies. I got 3 layers of each. In each cookie layer, I put 2 rows of 8 cookies. The final layer should consist of cookies.
  4. Refrigerate for 1 hour.
  5. Melt the remaining 113 g of chocolate and the tablespoon of butter in the microwave according to the chocolate wrapper. Spread the chocolate over the dessert and make a wavy design with a fork.

 

Comments: At first, I was a bit hesitant about using Biscoff cookies because they have a pretty distinct flavor. However, their taste blended nicely with the chocolate. Depending on which cookies you use, you may need more or less (the original recipe calls for 200 g of cookies). Had I been in Argentina, I would have used galletitas Lincoln. In Spain, I would have used galletas Chiquilín. If you want to present your dessert on a nicer tray, you can lift it out of the baking pan with the parchment paper and then peel off the paper while sliding the dessert onto the tray. I recommend that you make this dessert the day before so that that the cookies and chocolate blend together. Remember to keep refrigerated!

Pasteles de galletas y chocolate

Layering the chocolate and cookies

Mi pastelito

Leave a Reply

