Pâte Brisée

Quiches

(Pastry Dough, Pie Crust)

Quiche Dough, ready for baking

Quiche Dough, ready for baking

This crust was an incredible discovery. It is flaky, flavorful, and perfect in every way. My brother usually doesn’t particularly like homemade savory pie crusts but he loved this one. Everyone always comments on the crust when I make quiches. Here are the directions for partially cooked shells used for the quiches.

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
  • ½ cup cake flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 ½ sticks (6 ounces) chilled butter, diced
  • 4 tablespoons chilled vegetable shortening
  • ½ cup ice water

Directions:

  1. Drop the flours, salt, and butter into the bowl of a food processor. Pulse 5 or 6 times to break up the butter.
  2. Add the shortening, turn on the machine and immediately pour in the ice water, pulsing about 3 times. At this point, the dough should look like a mass of small lumps and it should just hold when you press a handful together. If it’s too dry, add a few more drops of water and pulse.
  3. Turn out the dough onto the counter and push blobs of dough with the heel of your hand in front of you. Gather the dough into a relatively smooth cake and wrap in plastic. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours.
  4. Preheat oven to 400F (204C).
  5. Cut the chilled dough in half and keep one half wrapped and in the refrigerator. On a lightly floured surface, roll the other one into a circular shape about 1/8 inch thick. It should also be about 2 inches larger all around than your pie pan.
  6. Roll the dough up on your rolling pin and unroll it over a greased pie pan. Press the dough lightly into the bottom of the pan. Lift the edges of the dough and work it gently down the inside edges of the mold with your fingers, taking about 3/8 inch of the dough all around. This will make the sides of the shell sturdier. Trim off the excess dough with a knife.
  7. Push the dough 1/8 inch above the edge of the mold and press a decorative edge all around.
  8. Prick the bottom of the pastry with a fork.
  9. Grease the shiny side of a piece of aluminum foil and line the pastry with it. Press it against the sides of the pastry and fill it with dried beans or pie weights. This will keep the sides from collapsing and the bottom from puffing up.
  10. Bake in the middle level of the preheated oven for 8 to 9 minutes until it is set. Remove the aluminum foil and beans. Prick the bottom with a fork once more and return the pastry to the oven for 2 to 3 more minutes. When the shell is starting to color, remove it from the oven.
  11. Repeat with the other chilled half of the dough.
  12. They are now ready to be used for a quiche
Quiche, masa parcialmente cocida

The Prebaked Shell

 

6 thoughts on “Pâte Brisée

  1. I love the Quiche Lorraine and have followed this recipe very successfully. Thank you for your blog! My daughter is graduating from college and I am throwing a brunch for her and her friends. There will be 30 people in all. Can you please offer me any make ahead tips for the crust? Can I store the pre-baked crusts at room temperature in a large zip lock or should I do so in the refrigerator….I would be worried about condensation or should I freeze them. I was going to do the crusts the night before and then pour the mixture for baking 1-2 hours before guests arrive. The brunch is at 11AM and I am only 1 person though my husband and daughter will be helping but Quiches will be my territory. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated? I wont to maintain a high standard for the quiche but am stumped on how to plan it. I wanted to avoid the crust getting soggy. My daughter suggested that I could make the quiches the day before and then warm them up…..but I think this will compromise the flavor, etc. Baking is not the hard part….getting the crust done and the timing of it all is.

    Thank you in advance for your reply 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad it has been useful to you! I have stored pre-baked crusts in the freezer before. I’ve wrapped them in aluminum and also stored them in a Ziploc bag and both were fine. I am unsure about storing them in the refrigerator because of condensation, as you say. You can store unbaked crusts in the refrigerator though; that’s another alternative. Baking the actual quiches a few hours before the brunch is good. You can leave them out at room temperature and they will be fine. Like your daughter said, you can also make the entire quiches the day before and cover them with plastic wrap or aluminum and warm them up in a 350F oven the next day before serving. They will taste just fine. I’ve made quiches days before an event and I also often have leftovers.

      I hope this was useful. Let me know if you have any more questions and good luck with the brunch!

      Like

Leave a Reply

