Pumpkin Chili

Vegan

Pumpkin Chili

Adapted from Happy Herbivore by Lindsay S. Nixon

Have I mentioned that I love anything pumpkin? Well, I do. I have also recently discovered that I really like vegetarian chili; not only does it taste good, it’s a good way of combining veggies and protein in one. So, this recipe was perfect. It’s also quite easy and quick to make so I made it for lunch one day.

Yield: 2 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • ½ cup vegetable broth
  • ½ cup pure pumpkin (canned)
  • 1 15-oz can kidney beans, drained and rinsed

Directions:

  1. Line a skillet with a thin layer of water and sauté the onion until it is translucent.
  2. Add the chili powder and ground cumin, stirring to coat the onion. Continue to cook until all the liquid has cooked off.
  3. Add the broth and pumpkin and stir to combine.
  4. Add the beans and stir.
  5. Reduce the heat to low and cook until the beans are warm.

Comments: I loved the combination of kidney beans and onions with a hint of pumpkin and all the strong spicy taste. Like I said, it’s really fast to make so you can make it at any time if you’re in a hurry. The original recipe also included ¼ cup of canned green chilies but I was unable to find any at my supermarket. Don’t forget a slice of bread to soak it in the leftover sauce!

Pumpkin Chili, plato

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Chili

    1. Thanks! My blog has all sorts of foods but I became vegetarian this year so now I’m putting a lot more vegetarian/vegan recipes. Some of the vegetarian cook books I bought have a lot of vegan recipes. Glad you liked it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

