Vegan Chocolate Cake

Cakes, Vegan

Chocolate Cake (Happy Herbivore)

Adapted from Happy Herbivore by Lindsay S. Nixon

It was Sunday morning on Father’s Day. I was planning on making crumpets for the planned brunch but I forgot I had to let the dough rise. So I scrambled through my recipes, looking for something I could quickly whip up. However, everything had eggs or the vegan recipes had banana. I only had 1 egg left in the refrigerator and 0 bananas. Fortunately, I found this recipe in one of my vegetarian cookbooks. It was really spongy, moist and delicious.

Ingredients:

  • 1 ¼ cups whole-wheat flour
  • ¼ cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ cup dark brown sugar
  • 1 cup nondairy milk
  • 6 tablespoons unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ¼ cup chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375F (190C). Grease an 8-inch square baking dish and set aside.
  2. In a mixing bowl, whisk the flour, cocoa, baking soda and baking powder together.
  3. Add sugar, milk, applesauce, balsamic vinegar and vanilla. Stir until just combined.
  4. Transfer the batter into the prepared baking dish and sprinkle with the chocolate chips.
  5. Bake in the preheated oven for 20 to 30 minutes or until the cake springs back to the touch and a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

Comments: The secret to this cake is the balsamic vinegar. I did some research because I was curious about the effects of vinegar in making a cake. I found that it’s what makes a vegan cake moist. I topped the cake with Ghirardelli bittersweet chocolate chips; use vegan chocolate chips if you are vegan. You can of course also use semisweet chips and I’m sure white chocolate chips would go great with the cake as well. You may also want to substitute the chips for frosting instead.

Chocolate Cake (Happy Herbivore), pedazo

Leave a Reply

