Pumpkin Mac and Cheese

Pasta, Vegetarian

Pumpkin Mac and Cheese

Adapted from chocolatecoveredkatie.com

Autumn is fast approaching and we all know what that means: PUMPKIN PRODUCTS!!! I can’t express how excited I am to see Trader Joe’s fully stocked with all kinds of pumpkin goodies. As this is very much on my mind, I was sitting one day and thought, “There must be a recipe for pumpkin mac and cheese.” And I was right. This is a very easy and fast recipe; you can literally have dinner ready in about half an hour or less. Enjoy the pumpkin goodness!

Yields 4-5 servings

Ingredients:

  • 8 ounces dry pasta (such as elbow macaroni, farfalle, rotini or penne)
  • 1 can pumpkin purée (not pumpkin pie filling)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 cup milk of choice (I used almond milk)
  • 1 cup Italian blend shredded cheese (see below for vegan option)

Directions:

  1. Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Add the dry pasta and cook according to the instructions on the package.
  2. Meanwhile, combine the remaining ingredients in a medium pot and bring to a complete boil. Lower the heat and stir until the shredded cheese is completely melted.
  3. Drain the pasta and place in a serving dish. Mix in the sauce until well combined. Serve immediately.

Comments: This recipe yields a very rich, creamy sauce. It’s unlike anything I’ve ever had but it’s really good. Unfortunately, I found that the shredded Cheddar in my fridge had fungus but luckily I had Italian blend. The Italian blend has sharp cheeses (Provolone, Parmesan, Romano…) so it was good for the mac and cheese but I’ll probably use the classic Cheddar next time. If you are vegan, you can substitute the cheese for ¾ cup of nutritional yeast. I’m curious about how it will turn out but I knew my parents wouldn’t like it if I made it vegan. If you use nutritional yeast, let me know how it turns out. Instead of pasta, you can use quinoa, spaghetti squash rice or other vegetable “spaghetti.” Next time, I will use fresh pumpkin instead of the canned one; it’ll probably be even better.

Pumpkin Mac and Cheese, porción

Leave a Reply

