Pumpkin Lasagna with Mushrooms & Spinach

Lasagna, Vegetarian

Pumpkin Lasagna with Mushrooms & Spinach

Adapted from verybestbaking.com

Let us further celebrate this wonderful pumpkin season with lasagna. Yes, you heard correctly: PUMPKIN LASAGNA. Wow. So much deliciousness in just those two words. As I’ve said before, I love lasagnas and I love anything pumpkin. Put them together and you get a wonderful meal. Add in the spinach and mushrooms and it becomes very nutritious. My parents are not such pumpkin enthusiasts as me so I was a bit hesitant at first but both really liked it. I’m sure you will too.

Yields 6 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 8 ounces fresh mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cups fresh baby spinach
  • 1 cup canned pure pumpkin puré
  • 2/3 cup evaporated milk
  • 1 teaspoon dried rubbed sage
  • Pepper, to taste
  • Pinch of ground nutmeg
  • 6 whole wheat lasagna noodles, cooked according to package
  • 1 cup ricotta cheese, divided
  • 4 ounces shredded mozzarella cheese, divided
  • 3 ounces grated Parmesan cheese, divided

Pumpkin Lasagna with Mushrooms & Spinach, lado

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375F (190C). Spray an 8-inch square baking dish with cooking spray and set aside.
  2. Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the mushrooms and onions and cook, stirring occasionally for about 5 to 6 minutes or until they are tender. Add the spinach and stir until the spinach is wilted. Remove from the heat.
  3. Combine the pumpkin, evaporated milk, sage, pepper and nutmeg in a medium bowl.
  4. Spread ¼ cup of the pumpkin sauce onto the bottom of the baking dish. Top with 2 noodles, overlapping slightly. Spread ½ cup pumpkin sauce to edges of noodles. Top with half of the mushroom-spinach mixture, ½ cup of ricotta, ½ cup of mozzarella cheese and ¼ cup of Parmesan cheese. Repeat the layers. Finish by topping with the remaining 2 noodles and sauce. Cover with aluminum foil.
  5. Bake in the preheated oven for 40 minutes. Uncover and sprinkle with the remaining Parmesan cheese. Bake uncovered for an additional 5 to 10 minutes or until the cheese is melted and a light golden brown.

Pumpkin Lasagna with Mushrooms & Spinach, porción

Comments: I was not at all disappointed with this lasagna and it was a very appropriate October dinner. I used cremini mushrooms but use whatever kind you like best. I think next time I might use some more spinach; I followed the instructions this time around but I think it could have used some more spinach. I know Libby’s is the best-known brand of pumpkin however I just discovered that Trader Joe’s has a really good one. I tried a little as I was cooking just because and found it actually tastes like pumpkin. Most canned pumpkin tastes really bad (including Libby’s) but this one didn’t. Their secret? The pumpkin is cooked and canned on a family-owned farm in Washington within hours of being harvested. I highly recommend it. I am now using as much whole grain as I can however you can substitute the whole wheat noodles for regular ones. Remember to spread them out on aluminum foil once cooked so they don’t stick; if you use no-boil noodles, you don’t have to cook them beforehand. Finally, I found it a bit hard to spread the ricotta; I think it may be easier if you pop it in the microwave for a few seconds to soften it. Long live the pumpkin season!

Pumpkin Lasagna with Mushrooms & Spinach, porción lado

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Lasagna with Mushrooms & Spinach

Leave a Reply

