Broccoli Cheddar Quinoa Bites

Other, Vegetarian

Broccoli Cheddar Quinoa Bites

Adapted from alidaskitchen.com

I was looking for recipes for quinoa when I came across this one. Alida, the blogger, said that this recipe had been a huge hit at her house and that it was like a healthier version of mac and cheese. I would rather have regular mac and cheese but it’s cute and fun food that hides its healthiness (good for kids!).

Ingredients:

  • ¾ cup uncooked quinoa
  • 1½ cups water (or broth)
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 cups broccoli florets, finely diced
  • 1 cup yellow onion, finely diced
  • 1½ cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • ½ teaspoon paprika
  • 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes

Directions:

  1. In a medium saucepan, combine the quinoa and water and cook according to the package. Let cool.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the cooled quinoa, eggs, broccoli, onion, cheese, paprika and red pepper flakes.
  3. Preheat the oven to 350F (177C). Grease muffin tins.
  4. Put about 2-3 heaping tablespoonfuls of the quinoa mixture into the prepared muffin cups (for a regular-sized muffin tin).
  5. Bake for about 15 minutes or until the edges turn golden brown. Remove from the oven and let cool for about 5 minutes before removing from the pan.

Comments: Since becoming vegetarian I’ve been trying to incorporate a greater variety of vegetables into my diet. I wanted to try this recipe out because I hate broccoli. You honestly don’t taste the broccoli, which is why it’s good for kids (or picky adults like me). I used Horizon Organic’s shredded cheddar because it was the only vegetarian cheddar I could find at Target; however, I think they would be better with sharp or even extra sharp cheddar to give the bites a punch of taste. The original recipe said to make them in mini muffin tins but I used my regular muffin and large muffin tins; I got 12 regular-sized bites and 6 large-sized bites.

Broccoli Cheddar Quinoa Bites, porción

Leave a Reply

