Lentil Joes

Vegan

Lentil Joes

Adapted from Happy Herbivore by Lindsay S. Nixon

I hope everyone had a wonderful time during the holidays. I myself spent three spectacular weeks back home in Argentina. I apologize for not posting these past weeks but I was very busy and I didn’t always have a connection to the internet. I must say that my gastronomic adventure in Argentina was, as always, marvelous. I hope to post a few entries about some of the restaurants on my other blog Les Restos de Lucienne. But for now back to this new recipe.

Having lived in the U.S. for about four years, I have never eaten a sloppy joe. Not once. The only reason I knew about them was because of Adam Sandler’s song “Lunch Lady Land,” which doesn’t make them sound very appetizing. Nonetheless, in one of my vegetarian cook books I found this recipe that uses lentils instead of ground beef. I found it was rather good and my parents really liked it too. Dig in and be sloppy!

Yields 6 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 green bell pepper, seeded and diced
  • ½ cup tomato purée
  • 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce or gluten-free tamari
  • 2 ½ cups cooked lentils
  • ¼ teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 6 whole wheat English muffins

Directions:

  1. Line a large skillet with a thin layer of water and sauté the onion and bell pepper until the onion is translucent, the bell pepper has softened and turned a mellow green and most of the water has evaporated.
  2. Add the remaining ingredients and stir to combine.
  3. Warm, stirring occasionally over low heat.
  4. To serve, cut the English muffins in half, spoon some of the lentil mixture onto the bottom half and top with the other half. Dig in!

 

Comments: Another great, delicious, filling and quick meal, packed with protein, veggies and whole grains. I bought whole wheat English muffins but you can of course buy the regular ones if you wish or buy hamburger buns. To make the sandwiches a little less messy, I read that you can press down the center of the bread to form a bowl-like shape in the bread; I did this to the English muffins but it probably works best with hamburger buns. Still I didn’t find them to be extremely messy.

Lentil Joes II

Leave a Reply

