Magdalenas de dulce de leche

5 O'Clock Tea, Cupcakes and Muffins

(Dulce de Leche Muffins)

Magdalenas de dulce de leche

Adapted and translated from directoalpaladar.com

Here we arrive at another sticky spot. What’s the difference between a magdalena and a muffin? Both have a similar shape and essentially the same ingredients though in different proportions. Muffins, in general, have more butter and less baking powder; the batter for the magdalenas is beaten more so the magdalenas tend to be more spongy and fluffy. I don’t know if I prefer one over the other as I like both and they each bring back their own memories in my mind. Background aside, as a good Argentinean, I love dulce de leche and one day I thought “I wonder if there are any recipes for magdalenas de dulce de leche.” I searched online and found this recipe. Hope you enjoy!

Yields 8 magdalenas

Ingredients:

  • 85 grams unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 40 grams brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tablespoon milk
  • 60 grams dulce de leche + extra for topping
  • 100 grams flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder

Magdalenas de dulce de leche II

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F (180C). Line a muffin tin with muffin cups.
  2. Using an electric mixer, beat the butter with the sugar until well combined.
  3. Beat in the egg and later add the milk and dulce de leche while continuing to beat.
  4. Add the sifted flour and baking powder. Fold in using a spatula until well combined.
  5. Fill the prepared muffin cups with the batter. Top with a teaspoonful of dulce de leche.
  6. Bake in the preheated oven for about 15 minutes. They will have risen and will be slightly golden; a toothpick inserted in the middle will come out clean or with a few crumbs attached.

 

Comments: This is an incredibly simple recipe that you can easily whip up in under a half hour for a good after school or weekend snack. They are great warm, straight out of the oven. They are not exceedingly sweet, which was something I feared since my mom tends to not like overly sweet things. Because of this, I did not fill them with more dulce de leche but you can when you are filling the muffin cups with the batter and before topping them with dulce de leche. You can always spread some more dulce de leche right before eating them. They are VERY spongy and soft. I have some suggestions for dulce de leche brands. My favorite (La Salamandra) no longer exists, unfortunately. I think my second favorite would be Havanna. My mom’s favorite is San Ignacio but there’s also La Serenísima and Sancor. If you’re in the U.S., World Market also sells one that’s called Gaucho Ranch from Miami, which is decent. Trader Joe’s also sells one imported from Spain that I haven’t tried. Keep in mind that the latter two are not Argentinean. Whatever you do, DON’T buy cajeta, which is from Mexico and made with goat’s milk; it tastes completely different.

Magdalenas de dulce de leche, uno

Leave a Reply

