Soy Burgers

Vegetarian, Veggie Burgers

Hamburguesas de soja

Adapted and translated from recetas.lanacion.com.ar

I honestly don’t know how I came across this recipe but I’m glad I did. I think I was just browsing through some recipes on the website of La Nación (an Argentine newspaper) when I found this recipe and I though it sounded interesting. It’s a good alternative to the classic bean burger and has a great mélange of flavors I will describe later.

Yields 5 burgers

Ingredients:

  • 1 15-ounce can great northern beans, drained and rinsed
  • 300g soy flour
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 tablespoon dry oregano
  • Juice from 1 lemon
  • Zest from 1 lemon
  • 3 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese
  • Salt, to taste
  • Pepper, to taste

Directions:

  1. Line a baking sheet with wax paper and set aside
  2. Put the beans into a large bowl and mash them with a fork or potato masher.
  3. Add the remaining ingredients and combine well.
  4. Form the mixture into burgers and place on the prepared baking sheet. Refrigerate for at least half an hour.
  5. Grease an electric griddle and heat to around 350F (177C).
  6. Remove the burgers from the refrigerate and cook on the preheated griddle for about 5 minutes on each side or until they are a nice golden brown color.

 

Comments: I made these burgers quite thick like a regular hamburger and they were quite satisfying. I really loved this concoction. The touch of lemon and cheese gave them an incredible boost of flavor because, to be quite honest, if the burgers were just soy flour and beans they would be quite bland. The original recipe was not very specific about which kind of bean to use so I just went for what I could find but I think you can use any white bean; cannellini beans are always a good option for cooking. The recipe also said to use 150g of dry beans which you later have to soak and boil; I went for canned beans instead and made an estimate of how much I would need and they were great. When combining all the ingredients, I found it easier to use my hands than a fork or a spoon. I ate mine with a whole spelt English muffin and a salad and baked sweet potatoes on the side. Serve them however you like your burgers. You can freeze any uncooked burgers.

Update May 2016: After taking a couple of quarters off of school, I returned to college in late March for the Spring quarter. I basically shop at Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods. Unfortunately, I was unable to find any soy flour to make these burgers (same thing happened with the soy milanesas). So, I substituted the soy flour for vital wheat gluten. The vital wheat gluten gave the burgers a chewier consistency  but less “mushy” and they obviously taste differently. They also have a slightly milder flavor and aftertaste. I think from now on, I will make this recipe with vital wheat gluten but you can decide what you prefer.Hamburguesas de soja, plato

Leave a Reply

