Greek Yogurt Pumpkin Muffins

Cupcakes and Muffins

greek-yogurt-pumpkin-muffins

Adapted from voskos.com

Here’s the final recipe for today (find the two portobello ones here and here). Finally pumpkin season is back. Trader Joe’s already has its magnificent Pumpkin O’s as well as several other pumpkin products. Autumn leaves and colors are everywhere you look. Autumn isn’t autumn without some pumpkin recipes. Am I right? Of course I am! Here’s my first one for this year. I was about to head off to college in a little over a week and I had a huge tub of Greek yogurt in my fridge that I didn’t think I would be able to finish before I left. So I decided to use them in muffins or a bread. I found this recipe that also satisfied my longing and craving for anything pumpkin.

Yields 12 muffins

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup and 2 tablespoons pure maple syrup
  • 1 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 cup pumpkin purée (not pumpkin pie filling)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon almond milk

greek-yogurt-pumpkin-muffins-plato-lado

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325F (163C). Grease a muffin tin and set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking powder and cinnamon.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the eggs, maple syrup, Greek yogurt, pumpkin purée olive oil and almond milk.
  4. Add the yogurt mixture to the dry ingredients and mix until well incorporated.
  5. Divide the batter evenly between the muffin cups.
  6. Bake for about 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Cool for five minutes in the muffin tin before removing.

 

Comments: I just love the warm feeling of autumn spices and pumpkin; it warms your soul, truly. These muffins were not particularly sweet though still good. To make them a little sweeter, you can sprinkle some turbinado sugar on top before baking to create a crunchy top. I also had mine warm and topped with dulce de leche; the dulce de leche melted and impregnated the muffin, creating a delicious mélange of flavors. They may also be good with some Nutella though I haven’t tried it. I also liked an idea the website mentioned of replacing cornbread with these muffins; I think these muffins could be a great addition to any meal on a chilly, autumn night.

greek-yogurt-pumpkin-muffins-plato-mordido

6 thoughts on “Greek Yogurt Pumpkin Muffins

Leave a Reply

