Casamiento

Vegan

casamiento

Adapted from Meat-Free Monday Everywhere

A few days ago it was surprisingly and unusually cold in Houston. I wanted something to “warm my soul” for dinner that included beans. I had originally thought of making a chili but as I started scrolling through my recipes, I came across this recipe in the digital international cookbook by Meat-Free Mondays, the British organization started by Paul McCartney and his daughters. This recipe is originally from Honduras and the name means “marriage” in Spanish. The story that goes along with the dish is that the beans symbolize men and the rice symbolize women; when they marry, they turn the same color, “they become one.”

Yields 4 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1½ tablespoons oil (coconut oil recommended)
  • 1 can beans, drained (I used a mix of kidney, black and pinto beans)
  • 2 cups cooked rice (I used 1 bag of Minute’s multi-grain medley)
  • 1 tablespoon parsley or cilantro
  • 30 grams (1/4 cup) onion, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • Fresh ground pepper, to taste

Directions:

  1. In a saucepan, combine the onions, the oil, cumin and pepper. Cook over medium heat until fragrant, about five minutes, stirring occasionally.
  2. Stir in the beans, reduce heat to simmer and cover for five more minutes.
  3. Add rice and parsley or cilantro and combine. Make sure that the rice and beans “marry.” Once combined, let it cook on low heat for about five minutes.
  4. Remove from heat and let stand for five minutes before serving.

 

Comments: This was an incredibly easy and delicious meal. My sister-in-law fried plantain slices, which went very well with the casamiento. The original recipe also suggests using tortillas. The original recipe also suggests using coconut oil (I used vegetable oil), two cups of cooked kidney or black beans (instead of canned), white rice and two tablespoons of green peppers. I am sure that the green peppers go very well with this but I did not want to cut open a pepper for just two tablespoons. I hope you enjoy as much as I did!

casamiento-close-up

Leave a Reply

